Skip to main content

The Soane Medal continues the mission of Sir John Soane to encourage a better understanding of the central importance of architecture in people’s lives. Established in 2017, the Soane Medal recognises architects, educators and critics who have made a major contribution to their field through practice, history or theory, and in doing so have furthered and enriched the public understanding of architecture.

The winner of the Soane Medal is selected annually by a panel of distinguished architects, critics and curators, led by former Trustee of Sir John Soane’s Museum, Sir David Chipperfield. The recipient of the Medal writes and delivers a lecture, subsequently published by the Museum, at a special annual event in London. The recipient also receives a replica of the original gold medal presented to Sir John Soane by the ‘Architects of England’ in 1835.

The Soane Medal 2021

The 2021 Soane Medallist is the extraordinary architect and thinker Marina Tabassum. At an event at the Museum on 16 November 2021, streamed live around the world, she gave a lecture on her life and work, followed by a panel discussion chaired by Sir David Chipperfield.

Marina focuses her practice on designing buildings in tune with their natural environments, while embracing the design challenges of sustainability, and our collective impact on the planet. She is not only a highly distinguished and lauded architect, but a dedicated teacher and champion for the communities she serves.

Find out more about Marina's work below.

Sir John Soane’s Museum is grateful to the Rolex Institute for its support of the Soane Medal Lecture.


Latest updates

Further reading

Publications of past Soane Medal Lectures are available to purchase through the Shop. Each lecture is published in its entirety and is richly illustrated.

Shop now