"Our office is on a fairly busy street in central London. We occupy a small building with a pavement shopfront, where hundreds of working models produced over many decades – testament to our process – are visible to our neighbours and to passers-by. We have loads of visitors!"

Peter Barber, '8,000 Mile Island and Other Stories', The Soane Museum, 2022.

Join Peter Barber, the winner of the Soane Medal 2022, for a bespoke tour of his office. You will have the opportunity to meet Peter and his small team and hear first-hand about their working practices.

This session is aimed at architecture students or early-career professionals in the architecture and design sectors, but everyone is welcome.

About Peter

As one of Britain’s most acclaimed architects and founder of Peter Barber Architects, 2022 Soane Medallist Peter Barber’s practice focuses on social housing and urban planning.

He has been widely celebrated for his inventive approach to design, delivering innovative housing which is both high-quality and affordable. Barber has also developed a number of speculative projects which respond to issues including the housing crisis and the revitalisation of de-industrialised areas.

In recent years Peter and his firm have received several awards, including a lifetime achievement award from the Architects’ Journal and IBA Neave Brown Award for Housing 2021. He was awarded an OBE for services to architecture last year and elected as a Royal Academician in January. Alongside his practice, Peter lectures on architecture at the University of Westminster and was recently invited by the government to lead a discussion on "Designing for Better Public Spaces" with a team of top built environment professionals.

About the Soane Medal

Established in 2017, the Soane Medal recognises architects, educators and critics who have made a major contribution to their field through practice, history or theory, and in doing so have furthered and enriched the public understanding of architecture. Previous winners are Marina Tabassum (2021), Kenneth Frampton (2019), Denise Scott Brown (2018) and Rafael Moneo (2017). 

The winner of the Soane Medal is selected annually by a panel of distinguished architects, critics and curators. The recipient of the Medal writes and delivers a lecture at a special event at the Museum, which is streamed live around the world. The recipient also receives a replica of the original gold medal presented to Sir John Soane by the 'Architects of England' in 1835.

About the event

The event is taking place at Peter Barber Architects, 173 King's Cross Road, London WC1X 9BZ.

There will be two tours. Click below to book your preferred time slot.

Tour one: 12pm - 1pm

Tour two: 2pm - 3pm

Image: Peter Barber Architects shopfront, © Peter Barber Architects.