The Soane Medal continues the mission of Sir John Soane to encourage a better understanding of the central importance of architecture in people’s lives.

Established in 2017, the Soane Medal recognises architects, educators and critics who have made a major contribution to their field through practice, history or theory, and in doing so have furthered and enriched the public understanding of architecture. Previous winners include Marina Tabassum, Denise Scott Brown, Kenneth Frampton, and Rafael Moneo.

The winner of the Soane Medal is selected annually by a panel of distinguished architects, critics and curators, which has been led by former Trustee of Sir John Soane’s Museum, Sir David Chipperfield. The recipient of the Medal writes and delivers a lecture at a special event at the Museum, which is streamed live around the world. The recipient also receives a replica of the original gold medal presented to Sir John Soane by the ‘Architects of England’ in 1835.

Sir John Soane’s Museum is grateful to Hamish Forsyth for his support of the Soane Medal Lecture.

The Soane Medal 2022: watch Peter Barber's lecture

We're delighted to share that the recipient of this year's Soane Medal is the architect Peter Barber.

As one of Britain's most acclaimed architects, Peter's focus on innovative, affordable housing – particularly social housing – has been widely celebrated. You can find out more about Peter's incredible work here.

On 8 November, Peter presented a fascinating lecture via a livestream, from the Library-Dining Room of Sir John Soane's Museum, followed by an interview, led by journalist and author Alice Rawsthorn. You can catch up on the lecture in the player above.

Latest updates

Five Voices: On Peter Barber

Five voices – ranging from the Mayor of London to a resident of a sheltered housing project – reflect on the power and value of Peter Barber's architecture.

Five Voices: On Denise Scott Brown

On the occasion of the 2018 medal, five different voices from architecture reflect on the work and legacy of Denise Scott Brown, through her seminal work – book and architecture studio – Learning from Las Vegas.