As stipulated in the 1833 Act and the 1969 Charity Order, the Board of Trustees is made up of four Life Trustees, appointed by the Board of Trustees as a whole after wide consultation, and Representative Trustees from five organizations: the Royal Society, the Lord Mayor and the Court of Aldermen of the City of London, the Society of Antiquaries of London, the Royal Society of Arts and the Royal Academy of Arts.



Mr Guy Elliott, MBA (Chairman) holds an MA in Modern History from Oxford University and an MBA from INSEAD, France.  He is Deputy Chairman and Senior Independent Director of SABMiller plc, and a Non-Executive Director of Royal Dutch Shell plc. He has held these roles since 2013 and 2010 respectively. He is also a member of the Takeover Panel. He was previously Chief Financial Officer of Rio Tinto from 2002 until 2013, and a Non-Executive Director of Cadbury plc from 2007 until 2010.  Guy was on the Development Board of the Art Fund (formerly NACF) from 1993-6, and since 2010 has been a member of the Development Committee for The Canterbury Trust.

Mrs Bridget Cherry OBE, FSA, Hon. FRIBA read History at Oxford and History of Art at the Courtauld Institute. She began working for the Pevsner Architectural Guides as a research assistant in 1968 and was series editor from 1971 until 2002. Mrs Cherry is also the co-author of several Pevsner guides. She is Vice-President of the Heritage of London Trust; a Council member of the London Topographical Society; and a board member of the Ironbridge Heritage Trust.  She has served as a commissioner for both English Heritage and the Royal Commission on Historical Monuments of England, and as a Trustee of Historic Royal Palaces. She was elected a Life Trustee of the Museum in 1994. She serves on the Museum’s Buildings Committee.

Sir David Chipperfield CBE, RA, RDI, RIBA established David Chipperfield Architects in 1985.  He was Professor of Architecture at the Staatliche Akademie der Bildenden Künste, Stuttgart from 1995 until 2001 and Norman R. Foster Visiting Professor of Architectural Design at Yale University in 2011, and he has taught and lectured worldwide at schools of architecture. In 2012 David Chipperfield curated the 13th International Architecture Exhibition of the Venice Biennale.  He is an honorary fellow of both the American Institute of Architects and the Bund Deutscher Architekten, and a past winner of the Heinrich Tessenow Gold Medal, the Wolf Foundation Prize in the Arts, and the Grand DAI (Verband Deutscher Architekten- und Ingenieurvereine) Award for Building Culture. He was knighted for services to architecture in the UK and Germany. He has received the RIBA Royal Gold Medal for Architecture, and the Praemium Imperiale from the Japan Art Association, both given in recognition of a lifetime’s work.


Mrs Katrin Henkel is known professionally as Katrin Bellinger. In over 25 years of dealing in Old Master Drawings, Katrin has enriched major museum and private collections throughout the world.  She is based at Colnaghi in London and exhibits regularly there and in Paris, Maastricht, Munich and New York.  She is a member of the Visiting Committee of the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York and of the J. Paul Getty Museum in Los Angeles.  She is a Trustee of the Prince's Drawing School.  Katrin has served on the International Council of the Wallace Collection, the Committee for the George Beaumont Group at the National Gallery in London.  Katrin is a Representative Trustee of the Museum nominated by the Royal Society of Arts.


Mrs Molly Lowell Borthwick has worked for UK charities for over 20 years. She is also a Trustee of the Brunel Museum and the Tunbridge Wells International Music Festival and has previously managed the UK Education programme of The Prince’s Trust and served as Fundraising Director for the Inter-Action Social Enterprise Trust. She is an active member of the Soane Development Board and is also a Director of the Sir John Soane’s Museum Foundation in the USA.


Mr Basil Postan studied Sciences Politiques at Strasbourg and read PPE at Oxford. His career in the financial sector included working at Cazenove and Citibank; he subsequently held senior management positions at Morgan Grenfell, Nomura and Credit Lyonnais. In 1998 he created his own fund as a partner at JO Hambro, which he ran until he retired in 2009. He has been a Trustee of the London Library since 2009, sitting on the Development and Finance Committees, and was Chairman of the Sir John Soane’s Museum Trust from 2012 until 2014. He has several other charitable and philanthropic interests. Mr Postan was elected a Life Trustee of the Museum in 2014.


Lady (Orna) Turner was a partner in the management consulting firm McKinsey & Company for many years and is now Chair of the Advisory Board of consulting firm Eden McCallum LLP. She is a Non-Executive Director of Royal Mail Group plc and of Saga plc. Past Directorships include Bupa, Northern Foods plc and HMV plc. She is a Trustee and Council Member of the National Trust and a Trustee of the Soil Association.

Become a friend of the Soane and help secure our future.