The Building of Number 13
In August 1812, work began on the building that was to become Sir John Soane's enduring gift to the nation, Number 13 Lincoln's Inn Fields. To celebrate the 200th anniversary of this building, the Museum will be publishing daily entries from the notebook that Soane kept during this building work, in real time on the day that they were written. This volume is part of the Museum's extensive archive that can be consulted in the Museum library.
For an introduction to the background of Soane's need to rebuild Number 13, then please follow this link. For the latest entry, along with interpretation from the Museum's Deputy Director, Helen Dorey, please follow this link>>.
These diary entries complement the work that the Museum is presently undertaking as part of its Opening Up The Soane project, to make more the Museum and its collections available to the public than has ever been possible before - by the end of 2014, visitors will also be able to visit Soane's private apartments in Number 13 Lincoln's Inn Fields.
Follow us on Twitter to get the latest update as it is posted!
Acknowledgements - The following pages rely heavily on the extensive research into the building and its collections undertaken over many years by Helen Dorey. The transcript of the notebook was prepared by the Museum Archivist, Sue Palmer, and digitised by volunteer Martha Craig.