Christmas Opening Hours

Tuesday 20 December 10:00 – 17:00
Wednesday 21 December 10:00 – 17:00
Thursday 22 December 10:00 – 17:00
Friday 23 December 10:00 – 17:00
Christmas Eve Closed
Christmas Day Closed
Boxing Day Closed
Bank Holiday Tuesday 27 December 10:00 – 18:00
Wednesday 28 December 10:00 – 18:00
Thursday 29 December 10:00 – 18:00
Friday 30 December 10:00 – 18:00
New Year’s Eve 10:00 – 18:00
New Year’s Day Closed

Monday 2 to Monday 9 January 2017 Closed
Tuesday 10 January Open as usual

Museum Closure

We have some hugely exciting plans for 2017 and beyond to reveal very soon. In anticipation of this, the Museum will be closed from 2-9 January while we upgrade key visitor facilities. Unfortunately this means there'll be no Evening Opening in January. Sign up to our newsletter to stay up-to-date with what's on at the Soane.

Christmas Events

With the big day fast approaching, we’re thrilled to announce our Christmas event programme to help you celebrate the season.

Why not kick-off the festivities with our Candlelit Christmas Late on Friday 2 December, where you can enjoy live music, yuletide tipples and a pop-up market to grab some early stocking fillers? For an even more leisurely retail experience, our shop stays open late on Thursday 15 December so you can tick off all your present buying boxes – there’ll be discounts, free gift-wrapping and complimentary cocktails will be in full flow.   

For those who like to get creative, our craft workshops are just the ticket. On Saturday 10 December, food historian Tasha Marks from AVM Curiosities leads a session on making your very own mulled spice bag. And on Saturday 17 December, families can enjoy a drop-in art workshop to make holiday cards, gift tags and decorations.

For history lovers, we examine the long-forgotten yuletide rituals of the Georgian period in a lunchtime talk on how the Soane family celebrated Christmas. There’s more insight into domestic life at the Museum on our free, daily, private apartment tours which run throughout December. Or try our Highlights tours which are perfect for those who want to see some of the Museums most important treasures.

Between visiting friends and family, and eating too many mince pies, Christmas can be very busy. So for the first time, we are extending our opening hours between Christmas and New Year’s Eve – from 10:00 to 18:00 - so you have more time to enjoy a visit.

And the icing on the (Christmas) cake is that we have a sale in our online shop right now. Receive 15% off selected items using the code SALE at the checkout.